Stop the Self Color-Coding

Published 04/10/2016 by electrickgirls

img_0351Name: Sas Flowers

Age: 13
Ethnicity: Mexican
Instagram: @cerezaglazerr

I often wear whatever I like, it’s as simple as that. My mom is okay with it, so is my dad, and my relatives couldn’t care less! So why, for the longest time, was I scared of wearing colors that didn’t “match” my skintone? Too neon. Too dark. Not the right pattern. A little too much of “Look at me! Look at me!” Too much of this and too much of that. But the reality is, colors don’t define me. I define me. If you wanna wear a glittery pink shirt that says “#1 Grandma” ?  Do it, you’ll look great! Feel like wearing all black, complete with an MCR soundtrack playing as you strut your stuff? Hell yeah! Go right ahead. I won’t let a fashion blog or twitter snobs stop me from being me! Bringing me down because of my skin color, saying that “only certain colors will look good on me”. I’ll wear whatever I want, just as long as I am happy, since that’s the only thing that matters. No one should ever have to feel scared for making their dark skin shine!

 

Leave a Reply

